Blethers and blahs

Random ramblings from a chaotic life

WOWW 136

on January 11, 2012

I have missed sharing my workdesk the past few weeks.  I have still wandered around a few others though and found some lovely work.  I am hoping that this year will be a more productive one for me and I will be making a great effort to have something on the go at least twice a week.

This week it is felt.  Many weeks ago a Hobbycraft opened near where I live and for the first 2 weeks I resisted, then I caved BUT I didn’t buy anything on my first visit.  I did see this book though and it niggled at me, a lot!

I then decided to go back for it as I couldn’t source it anywhere else and I just knew that my oldest grandaughter would love these.  So off I went and had a wee panic to myself when I couldn’t find it where I thought it was.  I think someone else had their eye on it as I eventually found it in a different section right at the back of all the books.  Anyway, I bought it and it is mine and I am hoping to start using it in a week or so when I get used to being back at work again.

To get back to my workdesk, this book made me look at felt a bit more closely and I found a lovely photo of my youngext grandaughter which I had converted to sepia and had printed and I suddenly had the urge to make some felt flowers for a vintagy page using that photo.  Here is what I have accomplished so far.

Now embroidery was never my thing as I was always far too impatient to keep all my stitches neat and roughly the same size but on this scale I can just about manage.  I still have 3 to sew and that will hopefully be tonight with a view to having the page finished before the end of the weekend, though with more school planning to do it might be a tight squeeze.

Any useful tips about embroidery stitches, sewing with felt, or even where to buy good quality felt at a reasonable price are all welcome.  I have my eye on this book next

though another obsession is so not what I need right now!  For more fun and wonderful inspiration pop on over to Julia’s blog and see what everyone else has been up to.

15 responses to “WOWW 136

  1. Those felties are SO cool! That is such a neat book. Glad that you were able to score one! Thanks for sharing! Have a happy WOYWW! -Amanda 34

  2. may says:

    Can’t wait to see those Zombies they look real fun, my Grandson would love them too, those felt flowers are beautiful, x x hugs may x x x x

  3. Elizabeth says:

    Hello Linda, your experiments with felt are lovely and the books look interesting but, like you, I really do not need another obsession right now … especially as I’ve taken the pledge, no new stuff, so I won’t even check that book out on Amazon … honest :)) Have a great week and I hope you find time for those two projects. Elizabeth x #96

  4. The Zombie Felties look so awesome. you have to make one!
    Aeryn (25)

  5. Hee hee. I have bought a few books on creating with felt, which I haven’t done yet. It’s so exciting, isn’t it? Your flowers look wonderful, by the way!

    Glad you found the book – don’t you hate it when people try to hide things to come back later…..

    Kay
    WOYWW #45

  6. Cindy says:

    aaah hobbycraft…… I know they are expensive but they are the only half decent craft store near me so I often ‘cave’. Our local one has just started doing TH products as well so unfortunately the selection is getting better rather than worse…… Those Zombie felties look really neat. I might have to see if my local has a copy of that book next time I’m in! TFS have a happy WOYWW Cindy @ #52

  7. Ali H says:

    Thanks for sharing your desk today ! We had a Hobbycraft open nearby in December & I lasted til January to visit ! I did stock up on some supplies for the Life Book course I am taking – well it would be rude not to buy something ! Lets hope we see a wee zombie sitting on your desk next week !!!

  8. Lou P says:

    I’m seeing how many I can get round this way.then when I have finished I’ll come back again, that is if I can STOP reading all the posts first Happy WOYWW

    LOu P

  9. sarahp says:

    ooo zombie felt buddies seem interesting??? cant wait to see them please share them.xx
    I often wander down to Hobbycraft without buying but yes there is always temptations lurking in there..
    Regards Sarah 163 x

  10. I haven’t seen your desk before so a belated welcome to WOYWW from me! The idea of felt zombies made me giggle, hope your GD likes them. Love the little flowers, I was never any good at embroidery either!

    Hugs
    Brenda 103

  11. Katie (159) says:

    Looks like fun! I love crocheting little creatures.

    Katie (159)

  12. the flowers look just great and probably are very addictive! Thanks for the peek in to your crafty space…Sarah at 6

  13. Enfys says:

    Sorry I’m late, but lovely to see a nice busy desk! I love your felt flowers, what a lot of love that page will have stitched into it…
    hugs
    Enfys

  14. I love those felt flowers. I have used quite a few flowers recently, to the extent that I would love to go and replace some of then, However, having signed up to Use It Up in 2012, I have to resist and find another way round the problem. I shall have to make some with whatever is in my craft room. Have a good week, and I hope that Charlotte’s hands are feeling better now with that magic cream. Maggie #105.

  15. Morti says:

    Felt Zombies – how COOL are they???? Ace! Love your flowers too….

Leave a Reply

