Blethers and blahs

Random ramblings from a chaotic life

WOWW 132 – decisions, decisions

on December 14, 2011

I am totally rubbish at making decisions especially at this time of year but one decision I have made is that I am not making cards this year.  After my recent disasters and given my almost total lack of self confidence re making cards I have abandoned the idea.

card blanks and Christmas stamps waiting to become cards

Let’s face it a week’s work for 1 hand made card is hardly a reasonable time and motion study.  The sheer frustration and terror of sitting down, thinking of what to put on the front of a card and then actually making it into something that I wouldn’t be ashamed to put my name to is just not worth the stress.  Especially not when every day is fraught with decision making and stress at the moment.

I haven’t actually taken a pic of my abandoned work desk today – mainly because I only really decided to abandon it at 4am this morning when the gentle gale that was blowing past my window prevented me from getting back to sleep.

My current work in progress is actually this …

… which is going to be the cover for one of the sad looking cushions that adorn our sofa.  They are all mismatched in colour, shape and size but as they are in good condition and useful they have escaped our many clear outs.  I was inspired to smarten them up by the satisfaction I got making this …

a close up

… which will shortly be wrapped ready to keep my youngest some warm and snug throughout the winter months ahead.  The funny thing is that during a recent visit to my daughter’s house I spotted a blanket my mother had made for her when she was much younger and which was still in very good condition despite being about 20yrs old and made form the cheapest acrylic yarn there was.

The year ahead is one where I actually use my stash of yarn, fabric, paper etc as the budget is getting much smaller though the stash pile isn’t so unless it is absolutely essential for me to buy I will be using up and making do.

For now the decisions are – when to write the cards I need to send and, yes I do know it will need to be soon, and when to begin wrapping the mountain of things I have stashed away as gifts.  I think it will be baby steps with the decision making so I will start with the cards that need posted and begin tonight, I think.

11 responses to “WOWW 132 – decisions, decisions

  1. Michelle says:

    Your cushion cover is looking beautiful. Love the colors! Hope you get your card making mojo back. I have gone through definite slumps before. Something I always find helpful when I just can’t think of what to do is to look up card sketches. Sometimes that is just the boost you need to get the ideas flowing. #84 -Meechelle

  2. Your blankets are so beautiful. Isn’t it great that handmade things hold up so well. I also know what you mean about using up your stash. I have plenty already so will be using up what I have too.

    Happy WOYWW!! #82

    PS I’m sure you are overly critical of your cardmaking skills!!!

  3. Julia Dunnit says:

    Cricket your site is complicated to leave a message…if you feel you don’t get many WOYWW visitors, next time suggest they click on ‘view standard site’ ; so many of us are on blogger and WordPress doesn’t make it easy!
    I think you’re right about cards, it’s not worth the stress, make cards when you’re in the mood for card making…as long as you’re satisfying your need to craft, what the hell. How cosy those cushion covers will be, lovely idea.

  4. decisions at this time of the year tip me over the edge as well so you aren’t alone… I am sticking with the bare minimum in choices in everything to try to ease my poor brain into the silly season… hope the next week is a better one …xx

  5. Okienurse says:

    Love the throw you made! I still have the throw my MIL gave me 37 Christmases ago! I love it still but it needs a few repairs that I haven’t taken time to do. I still don’t have all the Christmas stuff up and decided it will be done tomorrow and I am leaving it up until the middle of January if it suits me. Just out to get my DH since he is making comments about me not finishing up! Can understand using up what you have! I am disabled but newly so and funds are definitely short this Christmas. Have a great week and Happy Holidays! Thanks for sharing. Vickie #35

  6. your cushion will be looking quite happy with the colors you chose for your project! yes, it is quite a busy time, isn’t it? merry Christmas and thanks for sharing!
    hugs,
    peggy aplSEEDS

  7. Lunch Lady Jan says:

    I think your decision is a good one – why stress over feeling you have to make cards (which you obviously don’t enjoy that much). Instead, focus on what you love – and that cushion cover is fab! I used to knit a pattern much like that – it was called Feather and Fan. That’s going to brighten up your sofa cushions for sure 🙂
    LLJ #34 xx

  8. Wipso says:

    I’m doing a quick drop in on the WOYWW desks to see what you’ve all been up to this week. Looks like we are all busy busy this week getting ready for the big day.
    Have a great week.
    A x
    ps if you would like to support me I am looking out for votes for my poppy pic. Please pop over to my blog and follow the links if you have a spare minute.

  9. may says:

    Hi you seem a busy bee at the moment, with lots of decisions to make I agree go with cards to be posted as number 1 so you dont miss the posting dates, and lots of luck with the rest, have a great creative week ahead, Hugs May x x x x

  10. Your crochet project looks great. Don’t give up making cards.!! Happy WOYWW 132. Thanks for Sharing!

    Hugs
    Shirley Pumpkin #63

  11. Oh, man. Using up and making do. I think we crafters have to bare our souls and our stashes in the new year and start a collective purging. Mine is getting out of control – I keep saying, “Well, it could be worse! I could spend the money on cigarettes!” Thing is, the cigarettes wouldn’t be falling out of every cupboard and in a black sack under the stairs. (Slaps self on the wrist).

    Enjoy the holiday season and I hope you find looooooooootttttsssss of yarn in your stocking 😉 – because it doesn’t count as stash if it comes from Santa (hehe!)

Leave a Reply

