Blethers and blahs

Random ramblings from a chaotic life

WOWW 129

on November 23, 2011

Well, it’s been a good few weeks since I have shared my workdesk, mainly because its been a hive of inactivity recently.  In fact for the past 2 weeks I have struggled with the project that is currently on my desk, a Tando advent tree.  It will be a gift for 2 of my grandchildren mainly so my daughter can control the amount of sweets my grandson eats.

Gluing it together was the first challenge.  It is a bit fiddly and I am very impatient, so it was never going to be easy.  I tried wet glue but didn’t have enough hands and/or patience to hold it till it dried so I quickly resorted to double sided sticky tape.  The tape didn’t hold it though and the next day it had pulled apart, with very few exceptions.  My friend Heather came to the rescue by suggesting using paper clips to hold it till the glue dried.  In my defence I was suffering from a bad bout of flu, which is why I never thought of that myself 🙂

Next came the job of painting it.  I had only read half the instructions for some reason so had the frame of the tree made and glued together before painting (I still blame the flu!) but I didn’t have the right shade of green.  I have to confess it took me 2 weeks to decide that I was going to paint it green instead of white (see previous post re indecisions).  I duly mixed what I though was a lot of paint only to run out 2/3 of the way through the painting job.  Grrr!  The next batch was, yes you’ve guessed it, a different colour and as the bits are directly next to each other it was very obvious.  This did lead to a happy solution though.  I am going to give the outside of the tree a final coat of green glitter glue so it will be all sparkly and semi sealed.  Yay, a good idea at last!

All I need now is another hour to finish the glitter painting and then start the next bit.  In case you are wondering why the bottom part of the larger drawers are not painted that’s because they are going to be white and then glittered like sparkly snow.  I am actually starting to enjoy this project now that all the decisions have been made.  Maybe my way out of the crafting wilderness is clear, for the first time in months.

14 responses to “WOWW 129

  1. Im sure it will look stunning once finished.Your not alne ive often run out of mixed paint and then can never get same colour again just improvise thats what i do.Im sure the grandie kids wont know they will be just sfter the wee thing in the box…yes prob candy ,or maybe a wee toy,maybe 20pence piece that could fit .beat them not having too much sugar..lol
    Have funcan’t wait to see it finished .,Nice to see you back.
    Have fab wednesday pop by as i have candy up for grabs hugs judex 18

  2. Hi there. Thanks for letting us peek into your creative space this week. It’s always inspiring seeing where and how we create! Hope the rest of your week goes very well for you. I’m sure your tree will be a treasured advent calender for years to come!
    Neil #31

  3. Oh ! What s lovely gift that advent tree would make! Such a lot if work involved in making that and i can’t wait to see.it finished!

    Thanks for sharing. Happy WOYWW

    Jackie x

  4. Laura says:

    What a fantastic project it will look brilliant when it’s finished, hope you are feeling better. Have a lovely Wednesday. Laura

  5. Ooooh I love this! I have made an advent too this week! One quick tip I have is that I keep a tag handy with lots of bulldog clips on it then when I glue something I can hold it together with a clip – hope this helps! Thanks for sharing. Sunshine Girl – No 19

  6. Well, despite all the problems and procrastinations, I think the tree is looking lovely!

    Hugs
    Brenda 82

  7. That is going to look amazing when it is done… but boy would that frustrate me to pieces… you have more patience than I do… by the way would you mind adopting me… my mum is rubbish at projects like this xx

  8. Famfa says:

    Admiring your patience. Looks like a feat of engineering. Can’t wait to see what it looks like finished. Have not come across your blog before. Am now going to follow you so I can see what else you get up to

  9. I had to pop back and let you know that those scarves are so simple that my non knitter husband can knit them with both hands tied behind his back!! They’re the simplest thing in the world, they really are, the wool does all the work for you.

    Hugs
    Brenda

  10. Sarah says:

    Well afetr all that it is looking fabulous and will make a great gift. Love that green and don’t worry I have zero drying patience too! Thanks for taking some time to share your desk…Sarah at 14.

  11. Julia Dunnit says:

    Oh well done Linda, I’m gad that you’re getting some enjoyment from this – sounds like the more you do to it, the more inspired you become. And the grandchildren will LOVE it. I swa one of these kits and passed it by, but now I see yours underway, feel I should have had a proper look – so now I’m all inspired by you!

  12. Lunch Lady Jan says:

    Fantastic tree, love the little drawers!! It was worth the hard work in the making 🙂
    Hugs, LLJ #39 xx

  13. Shoshi says:

    It can be extremely frustrating doing a project where at every stage something seems to go wrong, can’t it!! However, sometimes you end up with something even better than if it went right – e.g. using the glitter glue to cover up the fact that the greens didn’t match – ending up with something a LOT more interesting! I think this is a beautiful project, and a very unusual idea. Well done! Sorry to hear you’ve been suffering with the flu too – I’m still feeling really rough and fed up not having any voice for a week now. Grrrr indeed. Happy WOYWW, Shoshi #70

  14. Elizabeth says:

    Well, Linda, as far as I’m concerned you get top marks for even starting this project when you had flu, let alone almost complete it. It looks as though it is going to be well worth the efforr. Have a great week. Elizabeth x #81

Leave a Reply

