Blethers and blahs

Random ramblings from a chaotic life

Scary stuff

on July 15, 2011

Some time ago my friend Angela asked me to be part of her design team.  I was delighted but a bit scared having never applied to a design team before as I never felt that my stuff was good enough plus the thought of using specific stuff and having to create to order, if you like, had always put me off.  Luckily Angela is fairly laid back and she only really needs stuff if she has a lot of new stash in or there is a craft show on the horizon.

Recently she gave me a Tando mask that featured a variety of stitches.  I knew I had photos of my grandchildren sewing and so I picked some my Mind’s Eye papers which I felt would go with them.  The difficulty was that the papers were quite dark and/or quite busy so mists wouldn’t really show up that well so I tried to think of ways to use it without using mists.

I used a brown promarker to trace the outline of a patch that I used as an embellishment.  I then used part of the mask as a template and poked the requisite holes which I then stitched.  The page was coming together but the top and bottom left hand side corners looked a bit bare.  I initially thought about using the blanket stitch part of the mask but in the end I went with the zig zag stitch.  I used a versamark pen that I had had for ages to write through the zig zags then I embossed the pattern with pink embossing powder.  I did find that if I tapped the page too hard too much of the embossing powder came off so I had to be gentle.  The end result isn’t exactly straight but I think that adds to the overall charm. Finally I made some paper flowers using my trusty circle punches and another long forgotten tool, my glue gun.  I have to say that the glue gun makes the flowers so much easier, I am far too impatient to hold things while they dry.

 I am very happy with the end result and it wasn’t really scary at all.  I wonder what my next DT project will be?

Leave a Reply

