Blethers and blahs

Random ramblings from a chaotic life

Down but not out

on March 17, 2011

I can hardly believe it’s been 2 weeks since I last posted on here, my apologies if you have visited waiting for an update.  Last week I managed to tear one of the ligaments on the inside of my left knee which has left me in a lot of pain and majorly hacked off at the impact this is having on my ability to do things.  It is mending but slowly.  In fact the first few days after I did it I ended up in so much pain due to resting that I could barely move at all!  I had sat so long with my leg as comfy as possible that my back siezed up.  Thankfully my back has now loosened and my knee is mending but driving is out, as is working.  In fact on Monday my boss sent me home from work as I was a health and safety hazard, if the school had gone on fire I would not have been able to get out in the allotted time 🙂  The worst of it is I have so much I need to do before the Easter holidays roll around and being stuck at home isn’t helping.  I will just have to work extra hours from next week, when I will be back at work, knee or not.  I have a knee support now so that will help.

As far as my scrapping goes and my Find Your Way class, well that has been an eye opener.  I have made several pages and discovered a few things abut my own process that I wasn’t aware of before.  Size wise I prefer 12×12 though I do sometimes use 8.5×11 and I also realised that although I prefer to use cardstock as my base I always have some patterned paper between my base and my photos.  This was something I wasn’t aware of before but having looked back through my albums it is something I have almost always done.

I also discovered that I have many papers with cute, repeating patterns which I don’t actually like very much.  I will use them though but I certainly won’t be buying any more.  I have found myself using my stamps more often, which makes me happy.

Last week’s lesson was about photos and photo sizes.  I normally get my photos printed 6×4 and these get stored in my photo albums ready for scrapping and once the albums get full I move the photos into category drawers.   This time I decided to get some of my photos printed smaller, particularly those where I wanted to use several photos to tell the story.  I chose 4×3 and 2.5×3.5 dependant on how many photos I wanted to use.  This was a bit scary because I remember when I switched from 5×7 to 6×4 several years ago, the photos seemed to be lost on my page and I was a bit concerned that I would feel the same this time.  I was delighted to find that this wasn’t the case at all, in fact I have really enjoyed using smaller photos as I often have several photos for a story and it is very hard to decide which ones to use.

This was just such a fun page to make.  I used loads of my BamPop frames and 2 photos that wouldn’t usually make it to being printed as the quality isn’t great but they go with the story and the overall page makes me smile.  The next thing I tried was using several copies of the same photo.  I had these printed in error due to the amount I needed to get printed but I like the end result.  I’m not sure I would do this often but I have tried it.

I also discovered that by writing my journalling roughly in my head before deciding on a title, the title will come more easily.  This is a huge relief as I sometimes struggle with titles.  I’m not sure I would be brave enough to commit my journalling to paper first before deciding on a title as I would worry about not having enough room to fit it all in, but that might get easier with time.  Who knows?  For now I am happy creating pages and being more aware of what makes me happy both during the process and with the end result.  Hopefully by my next post my knee will have healed and I will have made even more exciting discoveries about my own scrapping process.  Please feel free to share your own scrapping process with me.  Take care x x x

One response to “Down but not out

  1. alexa says:

    Glad to see you posting! and sorry you have/are having such a rough time. :(. Hoping that knee support helps, and that school is understanding about what you can realistically do … Really like your pages – repeating the photos looks really good! and I never mind using blurry photos because, actually, that’s how my life feels sometimes. Yours look great with all those pretty doodley frames. How rewarding to discover things about one’s own style that wasn’t known before! My own process? Well, usually starts with a desire to try out a design: shape pulls me in first, and then the photos follow. Journalling next and my title is always last!

Leave a Reply

