Blethers and blahs

Random ramblings from a chaotic life

M.I.A.

on February 2, 2011

My mojo is missing – official.  I sooo want to scrap but I just can’t seem to, no matter how I try.  I have tried digi and paper but nothing, nada, zip.  It is extremely frustrating.  I managed 2 digi pages last week though it was a struggle but since then nothing I have tried has worked.  I have photos ready and a story in my head but I just can’t seem to fit them together.  Today I read Cathy Zeilske‘s blog and something clicked.  I think I need to go back to basics and focus on just the photo and the story and then see what happens.  It won’t be tomorrow as I have to work late but hopefully over the weekend.  I just hope that I manage to find the time and still have the notion.

I have found that in the years I have been scrapbooking my preferred style has changed often, sometimes depending on what is popular at the time, sometimes depending on a new technique or product on the market.  Even with digi my style has changed over time from clean and simple to multi layered and maybe back towards clean and simple.  I don’t have a definitive, consistent style apart from the fact I always use photos and include journalling.  I read on Karen Grunberg‘s blog that she found her style by creating a layout each day for a month.  Now that is something I will probably never have time for, well not unless I give up either eating or sleeping, but I am keeping it in mind.  Hopefully I will find my missing mojo and my own style somewhere down the road.  In the meantime I am still taking photos and recording my stories and for now that will have to be enough.  I do miss the calmness that creating a scrapbook page brings me, and work is so stressful that I really need that feeling of calmness at the moment.  If you have any possible solutions please let me know what they are, I would be very grateful.

One response to “M.I.A.

  1. alexa says:

    Both these lovely soft pages seem, paradoxically, to be full of calm (though you may not feel it)! When I get stuck, I do nothing much for a little while (happened to me in January, about which I wrote), then I just work with a photo and some words on the page. Nothing more. Feels like cleansing my palette. This may not work for everyone of course… Are you feeling better from your bug/infection yet?

Leave a Reply

