Blethers and blahs

Random ramblings from a chaotic life

I must be mad!

on January 9, 2011

I am a great fan of Ali Edwards.  I like her style, though it is sometimes a bit too unadorned for me, but I also like her relaxed approach to scrapbooking, story telling and memory preservation.  When she recently blogged about Becky Higgins Project 365 kit she caught my interest.  I really liked the look of the kit, especially the turquoise one and so I looked at the costs.  The kit itself wasn’t too expensive and was really great value for money.  Sadly though the shipping costs to the UK were extortionate and way over what the kit itself cost and what the actual shipping costs would be and then there would be tax on top of that.  I did contact the customer services section of Becky Higgins about this which was made worse by the fact that Amazon.com was shipping it free in America, but I haven’t had a reply.  Others who complained and posted on UKS were basically told that that was how it is and there was nothing that could be done about it, which annoys me and makes me sad, as there is a huge potential market here, if the costs were reasonable.

In the end I resolved to just forget all about it as I knew I wouldn’t complete the project if I had to put the things together myself.  It was the ease of using the kit that made me want to try it.  Then I found Project 365 stuff coming at me from all sides.  BPS have a forum community especially for those taking part, several of my regular blog writers are doing it and it just seemed to be everywhere, none of which helped me until I saw this post.  Now despite using Arrowfile pockets to store my printed photos I would never have looked there for divided page protectors, so that will be stored away for future reference.  However the link that really caught my eye was for these templates which are demonstrated so well here.  I also liked the link to Blurb, which I have heard folk talk abut but not actually used myself, though I think that will be where my latest project ends up and maybe even my December Daily once it is completed.

Never having been someone who thinks before they leap I hastily bought the year’s collection of templates and a new project sprung to life.  It fits in well with Journey, my word for the year and it will also help with my photography skills which I have become lazy about over recent months.  So here is my first week of 2011.

The templates come complete and all you need to do it insert photos and journalling.  The pack also comes with highlight pages for those times when you want to include several extra photos, which should help me get more events scrapped, as I am rubbish at these normally, and so for me, this is the ideal pack.  I am under no illusion that remembering to take a photo every day and sometimes even thinking of what to take a photo of, will be difficult, but it is something I feel I want to do and these templates make it so easy.

I am still plugging away at my December Daily and have another 4 pages complete.  This year I also signed up for Shimmelle‘s Journal Your Christmas prompts, which I have to say were extremely good value for the sheer volume of prompts I received.  Unfortunately I can’t tell you how good the prompts were or were not as I haven’t actually opened any of them!  That is a shocking confession to make but my intentions were good.  I have no doubts though that as I continue with my December Daily I will be turning to them for inspiration.  I am determined to finish this project, mainly because the pages are all made just ready for photos. This year I may not make a DD book as it will be incorporated in my 365 project, which I will finish, and hopefully in time.  For now I am off to tidy and iron clothes and all those good things ready for returning to school tomorrow, not quite fighting fit, but in the best semblance of it that I can manage.  Wish me luck!

One response to “I must be mad!

  1. alexa says:

    Wishing you success on your journey this year – wonderful word! Like the templates idea for 2011 (didn’t see these and have resorted to making my own), which look nicely flexible and am looking forward to seeing how you use them – and seeing the results of your knitting machine!

Leave a Reply

