Blethers and blahs

Random ramblings from a chaotic life

Never say never …

on September 16, 2010

Ok, here’s the thing.  Some time ago I made myself a promise that I wouldn’t sign up for any more online classes.  I am sure I even mentioned here, in public, just to reinforce the message.  The reasons?  Well, some classes I finish everything, others like METAV I only have the very last page to complete, others like Ali Edwards class which finished in March 2010 I only have half finished and others still like Shimmelle‘s Blogging class I never even started!  I have so many sets of instructions in folders and still more on the PC not printed that I swore I was not going to take any more – ever!

However during the summer there was a BPS class by May Flaum called Camp Scrap that got rave reviews and those that took part made so many great pages that I was sorely tempted, but I resisted, even though it wasn’t easy.  Recently May announced she was going to do another BPS class called Adventures in Scrapbooking: Use your Stash and I was oh so tempted.  The crunch was that she uses 6×4 photos that she prints in a block, just like I do.  Well, that sealed it.  I had to sign up and boy I am glad I did.  I am half way through week one, even though week 3 started today, and I am onto layout no 2 and loving it.

The first prompt was to use neutral cardstock and a grid of photos.  Now grids I can do but neutral cardstock is a bit more tricky.  I had never used kraft cardstock until I took Cathy Zielske’s Design Your Life class and now I am a total convert but that’s as neutral as I go normally.  I started by looking for several photos of the one event and found some from our recent holiday at the caravan, then I found some grey card I had bought at least 5 years ago and never used.  That was back in the early days when I bought bargains because everything seemed so expensive and some time before the complete addiction to scrapbook supplies kicked in.  Anyway the end reult was 2 pages documenting an event in my grandchildren’s lives that they will want to remember for a long time, another story told and some more supplies used up. 

This weekend is a long weekend so I am hopeful of getting at least to the end of week 2’s handout and many more pages done.  Sometimes breaking a promise to yourself isn’t a bad thing, as long as it doesn’t involve calories anyway!

One response to “Never say never …

  1. alexa says:

    Lovely pages – I’m a fan of blocking photos together too! And I really like the colours you’ve chosen – they suit the photos so well …

Leave a Reply

