Blethers and blahs

Random ramblings from a chaotic life

Longer and longer

on August 14, 2010

I am finding it is taking me longer every time I start to create a scrapbook page.  I never get as much scrapbooking done in the summer holidays as I would like because life is just too busy doing all the other things I don’t get time to do during term time.  I know I am extremely lucky to get the holidays I do as a teacher, and I do sometimes wish they were shorter, especially in the summer, but I know I am probably the only teacher to think that.  My daughter wishes they were longer as a parent because she loves having the time to play and do things with her children during the holidays, but I think she is in the minority of parents to think that.

The first page I started after my neck began to improve took me almost 5 weeks to get right.  5 weeks!  It’s not even that great a page, in fact it was so not great that it went straight into an album and was never scanned or photographed.  Maybe one day when I can bear to look at it again.  It very nearly put me off scrapbooking for ever.

This page took 3 weeks from start to finish.It is very simple and basic but it captures the story I wanted to tell, of the bond between my son and my grandson.  The reason it took so long was because I started it a few days before going on holiday, ran out of time on that day and then it sat for 2 and a half weeks till I got the time to finish it yesterday.  The actual page took several hours, still longer than you would think, but not a whole 3 weeks.

I am not sure why I am taking longer to make pages just now.  I think part of it is that my focus is changing from recording moments in picture form and being creative about how I present them to telling the underlying stories and as yet I am not totally comfortable with the transition.  It is still a work in progress and something I need to keep at.

For now I am grateful for the time to scrapbook combined with the inspiration, so I am off to see if I can make a page in a bit less time then 3 weeks.  Wish me luck ….

One response to “Longer and longer

  1. alexa says:

    It may be taking longer, but it’s a great story to tell! And you design with the diamonds is so carefully done … Lovely to look at!

Leave a Reply

