Blethers and blahs

Random ramblings from a chaotic life

Life in the slow lane

on May 27, 2008

That’s me at the moment. Things are mending and healing and I just have to go with the flow, although the slow pace is actually quite nice. I have spent a good few hours sitting in the sun, under a brolly so as not to get burned, letting the sunshine work it’s magic over the past few days. Pity today was so cold and windy.

I have managed a few digi pages and have loads of ideas for paper pages in my head, but my neck is not yet flexible enough , though I am hopeful for tomorrow. I recieved some gorgeous flowers today from my colleagues and I will take photos tomorrow, a cheering thought. I have barely lifted my camera this week, which is most unlike me. I am hoping to make up for lost time very soon.

Both of the following pages were made with a kit called ‘Smilin’ at me’ by Mindy Terasawa who is one of my favourite digi designers. I also bought the solid paper pack as an add on as it just adds that extra degree of creativity.

As I have not a lot to relate at the moment I am going to take the time to reflect on the essence of a conversation that took place at a recent crop. It was about design teams and the contributors were many and varied from someone who owned a shop which had a design team, to someone whose work has featured in many design teams through to people who had no idea what being on a design team involved. It was refreshing to hear the different view points and it left me with much to think about. I have tended to avoid applying for design teams, apart from the Lippy Chick one as that was very different, in my mind anyway. I hate the idea of letting someone down and am not very confident about my own ability to produce a page on demand and these are the main reasons. I did once apply for a digi design team but only because they were offering free kits to work with and the first one was great. Sadly I hated the second one and could do very little with it as it just wasn’t ‘me’ so although there are often calls for applicants I tend to look hard at the products you would be expected to work with and then decide against the whole idea.
Thanks to being asked to appear on the Inspiration blog I am much more confident about my work now and although I am not likely to start hunting down design teams to apply for I would certainly think more carefully about it from now on, and not just dismiss it out of hand as I would have done before. At the end of the day I scrap for me as a creative outlet, and to leave the stories behind the photos for those who wish to know them. Anything more than that is a bonus and that includes comments from people who see my work and like it, so if you have taken the time to comment on my work, either on this blog or in forums that I post on, thank you. I do appreciate it.

Take care x x x

One response to “Life in the slow lane

  1. Angela says:

    Hope you are feeling better and resting lots.And wow those pages are fab!!I have been scrapping too, lol!

Leave a Reply

