Blethers and blahs

Random ramblings from a chaotic life

One album later ……

on August 12, 2007

I think this must be the quickest I have ever scrapped!  Beth's album about her holiday is now finished, woo hoo!  I have decided to give it to her later, when her memories are not as fresh as I think she will enjoy it better then.

I have put in a 8×8 album because she will need to have page protectors to keep grubby fingers off the pages.  It also means she can show her friends or take it to school if she wants.  I also found it a great way to use up old stash.  When I first started scrapping I decided to make each of my own children an 8×8 album.  On my first visit to the Craft show at the SECC after I discovered this wonderful (but expensive) hobby, I overdosed on HOTP 8×8 card and paper stacks.  I have to confess I find 8×8 too hard as there is not enough room for the journalling.  These albums are not finished – I maybe have one between the 3 of them – but are likely to be part paper and part digi in the end.

Anyway – I still have a mountain on HOTP 8×8 stuff and the card is not that great, either in colour or in quality, in my opinion.  I decided to use it up by using the back of the card as the base of this album, the dark colurs are black on the back and the light ones are white, hence the alternate black and white pages.  I made the front cover in the same style as the pages but the back one is simply lists of the things she experienced during her holiday.

The papers were a random selection from Treehouse memories, Fontwerks, Scenic Route and Doodlebug. 

I enjoyed using a range as I have sort of got into the habit of only using coordinating sheets recently and it was nice to go for something different.  I also used some papermania dome stickers which is also a throwback to my early attempts at scrapping but they worked well in this context.  They were showing their age though, as some of them were not very sticky.  The blossoms used came from Prima, Fancy Pants, Bazzill, Making memories and Aunty Sarah's Bloomers and of course I used my beloved Doodlebug frills and stamps from Autumn Leaves and Hampton Art.

Today I am going to make a start of using Photoshop – I have put it off for way too long.  I want to have a go at a new blog banner and some digi bits so if you can hear loud swearing – it will probably be me, lol.  I will post the rest of the pages over the next few days.  Take care x x x 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

