Blethers and blahs

Random ramblings from a chaotic life

T in the Park

on July 11, 2007

Well I bought two tickets for T in the Park 2008 this morning.  Why, I hear you ask?  Well I have bought tickets for T in the park every year for the past 12 years now and I haven't been once. 

In all honesty it is my idea of absolute hell, especially when it's like it was this year – all mud and glaur!  My kids though, think otherwise and one or more of them has attended each year for the past 12. Then it was held in Strathclyde Park and tickets were easy to come by.  In fact I used to wander down to Ripping Records in Edinburgh about May/June time and pick up tickets with no problem.  Now I am buying them a year in advance!

Sean, who has been for the past 4 years, reckons this year was one of the best in that there were bands playing on the Friday night, for those lucky enough to get there early, and the camp site was the best yet.  I fully expected him to come home with his stuff fit only for the bin, as has happened more than once before, but no, everything he took is salvageable.

One year, about 6 years ago, Michelle and Mark went with a crowd of friends and ended up having to buy new clothes because their stuff was so full of mud and other detritus of a very busy campsite.  Yeugh!!!!  Despite never having gone I have very many fond memories of this festival over the years and some very strange photographs which will one day be scrapped in memory of festival filled summers, probably when my lot finally decide they are too old to go any more.

I used to buy 4 tickets so that two of my children could go and each take a friend with them, who had to pay the asking price for their own tickets, I am not that kind hearted, lol.  These days I feel lucky to be able to get two, because some people are simply out to make money and have spoiled it for everyone else.  I have never aksed for more than I have paid for the tickets but many of my children's friends haven't had access to credit cards and would have missed out otherwise.

Apart from that I had a nice lunch and long chat with a friend, and was able to relax for the first time since school stopped.  We met at half twelve and finally left the restaurant at about half five.  Well, we hadn't seen each other for a few weeks, lol.  Tomorrow I am off into Edinburgh fabric shopping, not sure what I am going for but am going anyway.  Hopefully I will find some lush bits because Thursday is scrapping day, yippeee!!!!!!!  Until then, take care x x x x

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

