Blethers and blahs

Random ramblings from a chaotic life

Stunned!

on March 7, 2007

Unfortunately life is almost back to normal here after the fantastic weekend,  It felt very strange to be in work yesterday and today, not helped by the fact I am fighting a very sore throat, swollen glands and sore ears. 

I will share with you some of my work from the weekend over the next few days, one or two pages still need a title but apart from decorating my exploding box I finished all the classes I took and my Lippy Chick book, including the cover, and another 3 LO's which is pretty good going for me.

This page was Friday's make and take and full credit goes to Roz for this inspiring idea.  We started by listing all the things we do with our hands to show our families we love them and then she showed us the page.  OMG I love it and had it printed and journalled in jig time and with loads of ideas going through my head about doing something similar with my children and grandchildren.

However it was Roz's words as she explained it that had the most effect.  "Imagine in years to come your children will be able to touch this page and still put their hand in yours, even after you have gone"  so many, many thnaks for this Roz, so simple but what a fantastic idea.

One of the other pages I did I can't even show you because I don't have it!  Roz and Angela had organised a competition sponsored by SI magazine.  Kirsty was the mag's representative and was taking pics for a feature to be published sometime in the summer.  The competition was to make a hand made embellie and use it on a LO with a summer theme.

I wanted to give it a go to support the girls as they had gone to a lot of trouble to organise it but I didn't have any summer pics with me.  However I did have some paper which was blue and beige and which reminded me of the summer sky and the sand so I did a page about Logan and added a few stars as they always seem brighter in the summer months.  It was a very tenuous link and was only submitted as a show of support but – somehow, it won the second prize!  I was absolutely stunned. 

I know some people probably thought I won because I am friendly with Angela and Roz but it was Kirsty who judged the competition and there were no names on the LO's so I felt I had won it fairly.  Tracy, who won first prize, had made the most amazing fishing rod and net full of shells!  It was fantastic and she was a very deserving winner.  So look out for the article and Tracy's fab LO in a summer issue of SI mag.

I am delighted with all my Chatterbox goodies and all the baby girl embellies will give me the kick up the bum I need to scrap the pics of my oldest grandaughter and my daughter as babies.

For now lesson planning and record keeping beckon.  Take care x x x x   

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

