Blethers and blahs

Random ramblings from a chaotic life

Happy New Year

on January 2, 2007

First of all I want to say thanks to everyone for their congratulations and good wishes recently, they have been greatly appreciated. Mum and baby came home on 31st December and all is now well.  Dad has been emailed loads of pictures and is due home on 10 days compassionate leave from Iraq on 18th January to see his son.  Luckily they seem to be working out their difficulties and are hoping to sort out their relationship in the long term once he is home for good in the late spring.

I also want to take this opportunity to wish everyone a happy and successful 2007, whatever your chosen path, I hope it brings you all you wish for.

I normally stay up and see the old year out and the new year in, pausing for a brief reflection on what has passed and thinking about what I would like to achive in the year ahead.  This year however I slept right through it, and the damage caused by the storms.  Sleep was a greater priority and I feel so much better for it.

2006 was a rollercoaster of a year and my worst year ever health wise.  This caused me to let down friends, sometimes at the last minute, and although my illness was not life threatening it did seriously impede my life style and commitments.  It is mainly because of this that I made the decision to reduce my working week and I am really looking forward to the extra time outside of work and the improved quality of life this will give me and my family.

 

I also felt I lost my way with my scrapping last year – from about June I really struggled to find inspiration and motivation.  For 2007 I would like to find my own style and maybe even a wee bit of confidence in what I do.  There are some amazingly talented scrappers out there, and I am lucky enough to be able to call some of them friends.  I scrap because it relaxes me and I enjoy it and the frustration I have often felt at not being able to create has contributed to my stress levels I am sure.  To this end yesterdayI managed to finish a LO that had been sitting on my desk for weeks, half done and complete 2 others from scratch.  Not record breaking stuff I grant you but I had fun and am pleased with what I ended up with.

 

The next step is to try and improve my photography so they actually turn out closer to how they look in real life, lol.

Having the caravan will help with both my health and my scrapping I think, as there will be fewer distractions and if there is a problem at home, I will be too far away to deal with it so won't stress about whether I am doing the right thing or not.

I am not someone who has many regrets.  I will give things a try as there is nothing worse than regretting what you didn't do and I try not to regret the things I did.  I have brought my children up to believe that you make the best choice you can in the circumstances and then live with it.  If it goes well, it was obviously the right thing to do, if it doesn't remember that it was the best decision at the time and let it go.  I was watching Greys Anatomy last night and the quote that stuck in my head was 'life is not a dress rehearsal' and that is so true so I am hoping that 2007 will be the year I manage to achieve what I set out to achieve and that my health doesn't get in the way.

After all anyone who will publish a picture of herself in a sailor suit as naff as this one can't be someone who is afraid of public ridicule or regrets, right? LOL.

Take care x x x

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

