Blethers and blahs

Random ramblings from a chaotic life

The best laid plans

on November 14, 2006

"gang aft aglae" said Rabbie Burns and never a truer word was spoken.  My planned trip to Glasgow never occured as I took a detour to the garage for petrol and decided that having been soaked and almost blown away I was not up for driving the M8 and then trawling round shops in the cold and wet.  I can cope with many things but being cold and/or wet are guaranteed to put me in a foul mood. Given that I have been in a foul mood for most of the time since I went back to work, I felt it was not fair on Gordon. 

We decided to go to the shops in Livingston instead but it was only about 8.45 am and most of the car parks were closed!  2 of the car parks are being built on and the others were closed until 9am to stop the workers parking in them or so the security man said when I told him how ridiculous I thought it was. Several hours, sore feet and much money spent later, we emerged and I knew I had made the right decision.  What is it about the season of goodwill that brings out the mindless maniac in most people?  The amount of people who do not look where they are going or worse, where they are dragging their children/partner/shopping is ridiculous.  I came close to smacking a few folk for their sheer ignorance.  If I had gone to Glasgow I might be there yet, courtesy of H.M.P. lol.

Anyway, getting home earlier let me get my new Lippy Chick book started a bit earlier.  I have to say when Roz first gave me the new flop book I was stunned.  I wasn't sure what I was going to do with it.  I love it almost as much as I love the Flip book but not quite.  I had a few ideas about what I was going to do but, in time honoured fashion, it turned out completely different!  I do love it though, which is the best thing.  I am going to take it to Roz's on Saturday to see if she likes it.  Finger's crossed.  I have to take my hat off to those folk who are on more than one design team.  I have found this quite stressful and am not sure if I could do it more often.  Maybe it will get easier, who knows?  The daft thing is, one of the techniques I used in the book took me to the last bit to get right.  Still, at least I know now for the future.

The other bit of my plan for the weekend was ok and I got boots and trainers for my grandaughters.  I still get a shock at the prices of things for children though, I wonder how I ever managed with mine.  I even managed to get a party outfit for both girls.  Beth is 6 and very independent.  She knows what she likes and is difficult to sway.  The trouble is her taste is awful!  She is very like my daughter was at a similar age and has the same horrendous dress sense.  I remember Michelle insisting she was wearing a peach coloured dress with emerald green tights and a pink and yellow cardigan.  I can still see her proudly playing outside in this ensemble thinking she looked fab.  Luckily I was able to divert Beth to getting something that suited us both and didn't make her look 6 going on 16. 

Tonight was supposed to be a night when I got started on a piece of work that has been hanging over me for about 6 months, but as I haven't even got it out of it's hiding place as yet, it doesn't look like that will happen.  Gordon is away till Wednesday night and for the amount of things I have planned to do while he is away he will need to be away till about 6 weeks on Wednesday for me to get through them all.  Ho hum, maybe the answer is just to stop planning, lol.  Take care xx

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

